this is all sorts of not good.

I’ve been reading a lot of articles about Rehtaeh Parsons, and I hate that we live in a world like shit like this exists. The act of the four boys is disgusting. Both in what they did to her, and the fact that they distributed it like it was a goddamn trophy.

Wether they’re minors at the time, is unacceptable. Why would you–how could you write something like that off? No minor should even have it in their head that it’s totally cool to rape somebody and pass it around the internet. No minor would have any intention to destroy the life of a girl with so much heart, just because they saw something on 4chan, or reddit, or whatever anonymous community over the internet, and thought “hey, this is totally acceptable.”

It offends me not only as a grown man, but as a human being. I would hope that any parent takes a look at that and starts paying a little more attention to their child’s lives.

When I was in high school, I was with a girl who was really into me, about the time I was done and graduated and ready to move to Edmonton, a guy comes into town that she thought was totally cool. The become friends through school. He seemed like an alright guy as well.

Within the year and I was in Edmonton, I heard a story about how him and a bunch of his buddies got her drunk and then raped her. I was furious, But I’m living in a city 16 hours away and as much as our relationship was fizzling, I couldn’t help but wish I was over there and do something about it.

I can’t imagine what it would feel like to have someone you know have that happen to them, and then have that act passed around the internet. I imagine I would have lost myself in the anger. As much as I get upset about the shit in my life now, I would not be able to muster any kind of response other than rage. It’s disgusting, it’s unacceptable, and it’s not a world I want around for any future children.

Because as much as it’s nice that Anonymous wants to find justice for the whole thing, you know there’s other people out there which you could associate with them, asking if anyone has the pictures.

just… ugh.. god. rant over.

 

too much ranting….

Leave a Reply

