If I could sell myself it would be to this…

This is it kids, the time is now! The 3DS! Three Dimensions! Totally Adjustable! Zounds! GET HYPE! Okay, okay.. I’ll shut up, but this is serious business. I’ve been a crazy supporter for Portable gaming for many years! Original Gameboy, Gameboy Advance, GBA SP, Original DS and DSi, So I think it’s without question that I’m probably going to go for this when it’s eventually released to the masses and we all rejoice in technological achievement.

(I’m giddy and far too much of a dork.)

They recently held an event to show things off, and it looks pretty wicked. Also shown was the software lineup for the first bit of the 3DS’s release. There’s a lot of games shown in that video, but I will only mention the games I’m sure to get or maybe consider (under the cut). Games like:

Nintendogs + Cats – Everything you enjoyed about the original Nintendogs game, versus Cats. Years ago I heard about one of the crew being more of a cat lover and would program the occasional Cat mannerism into the game. I doubt that has anything to do with the cats inclusion this time around, but if you think about it what could you have really added on? I also like the inclusion of the Mii and the Dog walking seems cooler and I’m hoping there will be more activities to do, and maybe even a little better an interface.  I’m a grown man and I should really just buy a real dog, but I enjoyed the first game enough that I could eventually pick this up.

Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition – Yes, I do like me some Street fighter, even if I do suck at it. So me grabbing this would probably be more for novelty sake. But what they’re trying to do with it seems interesting enough. Definitely the kind of game that I’d rather see in action first, before I jump the gun. But, more than likely I would borrow it.

Kingdom Hearts 3D – Looks like a remake of the first game, which a lot of people like. I got into it on the 2nd game on the PS2 and didn’t really like it too much. But I think If I wanted to play the First one, I’d rather play the original than pick this one up. Another case of, I’d have to see it to be convinced.

Super Monkey Ball 3D – I have Super Monkey Ball 2 on the Gamecube, that’s enough for me. Still looks good though.

Resident Evil: Revelations – If you know me, you know I’m practically a hardcore RE fan. (but I wouldn’t say THAT hardcore.) For being on a portable device this game looks fucking amazing. First person shooting with movement? Jill Valentine is back in the saddle. If it didn’t have Chris Redfield I would say that, all this game needs is Leon Kennedy. If you just mention this game to me, then I’m pretty much sold on the 3DS. Day one purchase? yes please. (I will watch for this game like a hawk)

Paper Mario game – The series is competent enough. I would probably get it, especially if it’s going back to it’s RPG roots instead of that Super Paper Mario released on the Wii (There was nothing wrong with it, I just liked the RPGs a lot more)

Star Fox 64 3D – This is a game that flew under the radar for me during the N64 days, but every time people talk about it, there is only great things to say. So I do like the fact that they’re re-releasing it on this Device. So it’s definitely something I’ll have to consider if people like it so much.

Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D – Everybodies favorite Zelda game. Definitely worth picking up. I did really like the Original game, but I’m undecided because I already own it, but I feel like, this isn’t enough to buy it again, just to see it in better textures and in 3D. oh well. we’ll see.

Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D – You know, I get it. I understand why this would be stand alone, because that would make the cart in Revelations way to big, and I get Mercenaries is a popular enough thing where they could just sell it separately now. But at the same time, it doesn’t interest me as a Standalone game… But, it does have Hunk in it. (Which is probably the coolest secret Character in all of Resident Evil, aside from Tofu.)

Animal Resort – Is this going to be like Afrika? but for the DS? that would be COOL.

Fish On – FISHING?! FUCK YEAHHHHHH!!! (Fishing games, are like an inside joke to myself.) But this game strikes me as the kind of game that a store would bundle to your for free, after purchasing a different game (because no one is going to buy it.)

Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3D: The Naked Sample – That’s a long title. Snake Eater was probably one of my Favorite games in the Metal gear Series. What I’ve seen from this so far, it looks like they really want to make use of the 3D, and that is more that interesting to check out. You know, Kojima Productions is all about Quality :D.

Animal Crossing game – I’ve probably played every iteration that’s come out over the years, but I’ve played the DS version the most. There’s something about this that works better for me as a portable game. It screams ‘pick up and play’! Spend 15-20 minutes a time just just do something and you’re good. Since it’s also working on the 3DS’s internal clock, your time is the game’s time, and there’s something always happening. A good time waster.

Mario Kart – Well…. I can’t NOT get that.

Kid Icarus: Uprising – I’m absolutely excited for this game. Probably ever since Pit has popped up as a playable character in Smash Bros: Brawl. Part on Rails Shooter and part action platformer. This is probably the first game that got my attention for the 3DS, So I’d probably want to give it the attention it deserves. It’s been a long time, but it’s nice to finally see another Kid Icarus game.

Leave a Reply

