The winter, it does so lovely.

[BJ Gran Turismo 5 ost – Together again. Go ahead and listen while you read.]

It’s a wonderland out there. As I’ve stated before, Winter is my Jam. As of right now it’s been snowing all day and not letting up. My Central Canadian roots take this as a sign that nature is opening it’s arms and inviting me with a nice cold hug. I would be an idiot not to take the season up on it’s offer (especially in Vancouver.) So I boot up. Fuzzy sweater, big coat, fingerless mitts, and a scarfy scarf. All Black. I couldn’t possibly contrast the white of the snow anymore than this. Sure to be noticed if I’m ever found Jay-walking.

Without fail, the moment I set foot out the doors, I feel at home. comfortable. the snow is so quiet, various others around taking it in, (if only to shovel it all away) people making use of their skis. In my ears I’m being coaxed by Lou Reed to take a walk on the wild side, Seems oddly like dry humour in a Canadian sense. Sidewalks are soft and calm while the roads in between them are either empty or controlling chaos.

I take cuts through the Burnaby Mountain trail. My mitts do nothing for me, obviously, because my fingers are bare. Yet it’s not cold enough to worry. Every step inspires me to write the short that I’ve been sitting on for the past couple of months. I’ve figured it out. Winter, you’re such a muse.

—–

I walked in the direction of the closest Safeway, that’s up on Hasting (and somewhere). Mainly to pop in a grab a coffee, but I was looking at marshmallows. Does anyone know if gelatin free marshmallows even exist? I feel like that’s unheard of because I always figured it was a key ingredient. But if vegetarians know about this, and can point me in the right direction, please do. I ask because I am constantly thinking of hot cocoa and marshmallows. Especially since I want to share a silly moment like that will someone else.

So that’s your homework, internet!

As I previously stated before, I found my motivation for writing this short I’ve been toying with in my head. A story with Kenneth and a man who’s dreaming. Since I was outside, I guess I figure Winter is the perfect setting for anything. Maybe it is. The majority of my time spent outside is during the winter anyway. I’ll write up a rough outline tonight and see where it goes from there. maybe take it to a coffee shop tomorrow, before the tides inform me to watch ‘The Big Lebowski’ at Empire.

Friday is going to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

